The Quest for the Perfect Knit Dress: Lady Skater 1 and 2

As mentioned in my previous post, one of the main things I want to make this season are knit dresses that I can just throw on whenever. This was actually one of the main reasons I wanted to get serger! I decided to try the Lady Skater by Kitschy Coo because there were so many great versions on the interwebz and it’s a shape I really like to wear and it goes up to my size!

20140427-172715.jpg

For my first version, I cut a straight size 8 from this adorable bright pink and white polka dot jersey from Girl Charlee. Over all I love it, and I’ve already worn it a bunch! There are a few things I wanted to alter though.

20140427-175826.jpg

1) I think the waistline is too low – it’s actually hitting me where I am the largest, so on the next version I raised it 3.5″. 2) Like pretty much everything I’ve ever made (I should probably have learned my lesson by now) I need a narrow shoulder adjustment. In the next version I did a 0.5″ narrow shoulder adjustment.

(Side note: I have been trying on wedding dresses and this narrow shoulder thing made all the straps/sleeves hit me in a weird place! I would have never known why things looked strange if I’d never started sewing!)

20140427-180041.jpg

I also have a lot of bunching in the back, but I hoped that will be taken care of by raising the waistline.

20140427-180048.jpg

For my second version, I used a jersey from Joann’s Fabrics. Along with the alterations mentioned above, I decided to try a drindl skirt. I really like that style and figured it would also use less fabric! It turned out a little weird though – I don’t think I gathered the skirt very well.

20140427-180054.jpg

I also didn’t think about the fact that raising the waistline to a narrower part of my body meant that I should also take it in a little bit. I’ll have to fix that next time! So this dress isn’t as fitted as planned, but it is still super comfy! I think I’ll get a lot of wear out of it this summer.

20140427-180059.jpg

I’m still getting a lot of extra fabric in the back, so maybe I need a sway back adjustment?

I will definitely be making more of these, although I think I will switch back to the circle skirt the patter comes with. The new Moneta from Colette Patterns has a gathered skirt so I think I’ll be trying that for my next one!

Overall, these are two simple and nice dresses that will continue to get a lot of wear, and they sewed up really quickly! Definitely a nice way to get back into sewing after a long break!

Until next time,
Karin

2 thoughts on “The Quest for the Perfect Knit Dress: Lady Skater 1 and 2

  1. Pingback: Me Made May Reflections, plus some other things! | Dots, Stripes, and Florals

Leave a Reply

