Hi everyone!

I’ve been really busy lately with non-sewing things, but if you follow me on instagram, you’ve seen a few exciting things re: sewing that have happened lately!

The first is that I made another Staple Dress, this time for my friend Elisabeth for her 30th birthday!

Image

She looks pretty cute, huh?

I made this one out of a buffalo plaid chambray from Sew L.A.  They are always so helpful!  It turned out super cute, so much so that I actually squeaked a bit when it was finished.  This time I used the elastic thread, which was really fun and worked out quite well!  I also made bias tape from the fabric and used exposed bias tape (as explained here) to finish the neck and armholes.  I thought it would be a cute detail and break up all that plaid!  This was my first time aligning buffalo plaid, which is probably one of the easiest to line up, but I used some tips from Lauren and it worked out great!  I forgot to get a picture of that so you will just have to take my word for it.

Image

Exposed bias facing!

The second very exciting news is that something I’ve been wanting forever was on super sale, so my boyfriend and I split it as my Chanukah gift!

Image

Meet Klaus!

This is of course the eponymous Brother 1034D, my very own serger!  Amazon happens to be selling them right now for $180, plus we got free shipping since my boyfriend has Amazon prime.  I knew I picked him for a reason.  I have been thinking about getting a serger for a long time, because I want to sew knits.  I know you can do that on a sewing machine, but everything I’ve seen/read/talked to people about says its much easier on a serger.  Plus it just looks so fancy and professional.  And I couldn’t pass up the great deal!

Image

I mean just look at how beautiful that is.

I probably won’t do an actual review here, since that’s been covered in a lot of places, but so far I love it with all of my heart.  The first item I’ll be making with it is actually a hoodie for my boyfriend, so stay tuned for that. I also bought the Beginning Serger Sewing class on Craftsy (which is also having a 50% off sale right now, FYI), and I can’t wait to learn more about my serger!  

Ok, that’s all for now.  I hope you all enjoyed your Thanksgiving or Chanukah or weekend!

Until next time,

Karin 

 

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

