Geometric Staple Dress

Hi everyone!  Life has just been doing everything it can to keep me away from my sewing machine lately.  But, I managed to finish this super great dress!

Image

Indoor pictures now that it gets dark at 5pm.

This is The Staple Dress by April Rhodes. And despite that look on my face, I love it so much! This was a super simple pattern to put together, and it is exactly the type of dress I want a bunch of in my wardrobe: loose-ish, comfortable, but cinched at the waist so that I don’t have to wear a belt.  I really hate having to wear a belt for something to look reasonable.

ImagePlus pockets!  Hooray.  The only adjustment I made to the pattern was the neckline – when I mentioned I was going to make it, Leila warned me that the neckline is drafted really high, and if you look at the photos on the pattern that is definitely true!  I cut an XXL, but used the XS neckline, then took another half an inch off of that.  I’m definitely happy with where the neckline is now!  The only thing I might do differently next time is try to do a size in between the XL and the XXL so it isn’t quite so drapey up top.  But I’m very happy with the dress as it is!  It probably took me about 3 hours total, including doing french seams on the shoulders which I’d never done before.  It could be made even faster if you didn’t include pockets (although why anyone would do that I don’t know) or used pre-made bias binding for the neckline and sleeves.

The only other difference from the pattern was that I used clear elastic and a small zig-zag stitch to attach it rather than the elastic thread shirring. This was just because I didn’t know where to get elastic thread and I had clear elastic on hand.  I picked up some elastic thread last weekend though so next time (and there will probably be a bunch of next times) I will try that!

Image

Let’s talk about this fabric.  It is a gorgeously soft and lovely cotton by Thakoon from Mood Fabrics (unfortunately sold out!).  This is by far the nicest feeling fabric I’ve worked with – it almost felt silky, but was super easy to work with since it’s cotton. I love how it feels, and I love the awesome geometric pattern.  It is super fun and will go with any number of jackets and sweaters in my closet.  Unfortunately it is a tiny bit see-through, but that can be remedied by use of the correct undergarments or not caring.  I chose the latter.    

Image

Fancy poses.

I wore this dress out on Saturday night with my utility jacket and got loads of compliments from my friends!  Luckily we don’t have much in the way of seasons here in LA so I think this dress will get worn year round!  I really love it a lot.  This is a great beginner pattern and I can see myself coming back to it when I just want an easy, new dress in between more challenging projects.

Until next time,

Karin

 

9 thoughts on “Geometric Staple Dress

  1. It turned out perfect! I’m so glad you got that neckline to work for you. Yay! Yeah, you didn’t want the original neckline. Also, hip hip hooray for quick alterations so you can have a dress in a day! I love that feeling.

    • Thank you! And thanks for the suggestion, I probably wouldn’t have noticed how high it was if you hadn’t mentioned it! Yeah, I am excited to have something that fits easily that I can go back to after projects that take way more alterations.

    • Thank you! Not difficult at all – in-seam pockets are definitely the simplest, and the instructions were great. Yeah, I probably would care more during the day but at night I figure no one will mind 🙂

  2. Cute! I don’t have a large chest, so I’m hesitant on this. Have you tried any of the prints from Art Gallery? Very silky. Congrats on getting engaged!

    • Thanks! I think it would look great on a not as chesty body type – you’d probably just want to take that into consideration when choosing a size! I haven’t tried that place yet, I will give it a look!

Leave a Reply

