Some plans!

I really like having a short list of projects on the docket so that I don’t get distracted by all the shiny new patterns/fabric I see around.  I’m also trying to not spend much money on sewing this month so I would like to stick to patterns and fabric I already have!

October should be a really interesting month – my boyfriend is leaving for Paris for two weeks tomorrow for work (I cannot even describe how jealous I am), so many of my evenings will be free for sewing (and also missing my boyfriend, I suppose…)!  On the other hand, this week I start a class to become a docent at the LA Zoo!  I am so thrilled to be back in a class AND to get to hang out with animals.  The classes will be pretty much all day on Saturdays from now until April, so it will be interesting to see how that affects my productivity.  Either way, if I can get these three projects done in the next month I will be happy.

Image

The first is the Colette Zinnia in royal blue corduroy, which I’ve mentioned before.  I have everything cut out and interfaced, so I just have to sew this up, and I will have a great and versatile fall skirt!

staple dressThe second project is April Rhode’s Staple Dress in this great Thakoon cotton I managed to get on sale from Mood Fabrics before it was out of stock.  (Sorry y’all.)  I’ve been wanting a black and white geometric dress like this one from J. Crew for a while, and thought this would be the perfect pairing!  And will be a heck of a lot cheaper than the J. Crew version, too!

V8815The third project is a little different…I have been wanting to learn more about fitting, so I am taking the Plus-Size Pattern Fitting class on Craftsy!  I’m so excited to learn some good fitting lessons which I’m sure will help me a ton in fitting all the other great patterns that are out there.  The class comes with the peplum top Vogue 8815 and I am thinking about making View B in this beautiful Anna Maria Horner fabric.  I also have a mere 1.5 yards of this awesome sheep fabric, but I might be able to squeeze View A out of it.  I mean, who doesn’t want a peplum top with sheep all over it?

I’ll be sure to keep you guys updated with how things are going!  Do you have any specific fall plans?  And speaking of sheep, be on the look out for some awesome zoo animal pictures on this here blog!

Until next time,

Karin

14 thoughts on “Some plans!

  1. Great plans! I’m the same way, I love projects all lined up and ready to go in the queue. Even though I may change my mind a thousand times before I get to them, but still, the planning is one of the funnest parts!

  2. Looking forward to seeing all your makes! I’ve been thinking about making a corduroy zinnia, too! That’s awesome that you’re going to be a docent at the LA zoo! How fantastic. 🙂 And too bad you didn’t get to hitch a ride to Paris. That would have been soooooo fabulous!

    • Thanks! I’m super excited about the zoo. It’s pretty much my dream workplace 🙂 yeah, I would have loved to go, but I did instruct him to bring me back some fabric!

  3. I love making sewing plans. A short list is a great way to stay focused for me, too. Hey a tip on the Staple dress….lower the neckline. And you might get a really nice fit at the waist if you put the dress on before doing the shirring or elastic. Now I’m doubting my memory. Your pattern and fabric choices are going to be so fun!

  4. My zinnia pattern has been sitting on my sewing table since it’s arrival a couple of weeks ago. And I really want to give it a try but have promised a pair of slim fitted back zipper jeans with a fitted flannel shirt. Let me know how your fitting class goes, it may be one of the classes I need to take to master my fitting problems! Good luck with your future projects, I look forward to seeing them upon completion.

  5. Great plans. I have been thinking about lining up my fall and winter sewing projects. I have so many ideas that I know some get forgotten. And then there is always the lag when you don’t know what you are going to do next. If I had a few lined up at all times I would not have to worry! Looking forward to seeing your Zinnia and Staple dress!~Laurie

    • Thanks! Yeah, I also think it is good to have a few things lined up so that I am excited about the next project, which pushes me to work on whatever I am working on at the moment!

Leave a Reply

