Fall for Cotton – Finished (Kind of!)

Hi everyone!  I finished my blouse for the Fall for Cotton Challenge hosted by Tasha of By Gum, By Golly and Rochelle of Lucky Lucille!

Image

Finished!

Unfortunately I didn’t even start on the skirt I was planning to make, as the last year month kind of got away from me time-wise.  Ah well, at least I have a nice new shirt!

ImageI discussed a lot of the alterations I made in the previous update post, but I made a few others.  1) I ended up using bias binding instead of facing to finish the neckline.  I had the facings cut out and interfaced and everything, but then I just didn’t feel like dealing with it.  Are there specific times when facings are better than bias binding?  I guess facings are definitely better if you don’t want to see stitching, but I didn’t mind the look of it here.  Also, you could hand stitch the bias binding (I thought about it, but decided I didn’t want to!) and you wouldn’t be able to see much of it anyway, right?  2) Even though my muslin fit after adjustments, the bottom of the blouse ended up being way too tight.  I ended up just taking out the tucks on the back and then it fit fine!

ImageI definitely think this blouse will only be wearable under high-waisted things, and if/when I make it again I would like to lengthen it.  I am not totally sure how it is supposed to fit, since it is a vintage style, but I might also make it a little more snug up top.

Image

Shoulder buttons!

This was my first time working with shirting, and it was lovely to press and sew.  One thing I noticed is that even though I was using a new needle, it left needle marks when I took out basting and the tucks.  Is that normal for shirting?  The holes got smaller when I ironed, and I’m hoping that once I wash it again they will mostly go away.  This was also my first time making loops and sewing on shank buttons.  I think they turned out really cute!  I used this awesome bobby pin trick for turning the loops.

Image

 

I really love the colors in this fabric, and I think I will get a lot of wear out of this top.  It was so fun participating in this sew along and seeing everyone else’s awesome creations!

ImageUntil next time,

Karin

 

 

14 thoughts on “Fall for Cotton – Finished (Kind of!)

  1. Pat yourself on the back for participating in a challenge and making a cute vintage top! Now that the pattern alterations are behind you, the next one you make will breeze right along. bT W, the Bobbie pin tip is one I had forgotten, so happy you posted about it!

  2. Fun choice of fabric. Nice job with the buttons and the loops. The bias binding on the neckline turned out well.

  3. What a great blouse, and those buttons on the shoulder really makes the garment stand out.Love the fabric and it fits you great. I also had big plans for the FFC challenge but I am not good with time management and I try to bite off more than I can chew, so to speak. The sense of relief that I finished on time was the best accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

