Fall For Cotton Challenge: Inspiration

I’ve decided to join the Fall For Cotton challenge started by Rochelle of Lucky Lucille and Tasha of By Gum, By Golly!  The idea is to sew something vintage inspired using 100% cotton fabric.  I actually have pretty much used cotton exclusively since starting to sew because I’ve been too scared to use anything else!  So the challenge part for me will be the vintage aspect.  

Image

I think my particular body shape is best suited for 1940’s and 1950’s designs (times when waists were emphasized!).  I started by looking at some of the vintage patterns offered by the Big 4 pattern companies (I thought about looking at actual vintage patterns, but 1) I am scared! and 2) there aren’t a lot of plus-sized vintage patterns out there) and I totally fell in love with these shirts:

Image

Shoulder buttons!

Despite the styling on the actual model (I feel like she looks weirdly prairie?), I just thought these looked so cute!  Especially version C and D with the shoulder buttons!  So now I just have to decide on bottoms.  I am leaning towards a straight type skirt, as it seems that was the style at the time!  Here’s an actual vintage pattern for inspiration and another Simplicity pattern (with lots of extra options for another time)

Image

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alternatively, if I am feeling really brave, I was thinking about doing wide leg trousers. Either from the pattern above, or the Colette Juniper

ImageI’ve been meaning to try trousers for a while now, and I might need a nice pair in the coming season (more on that later…) so that might be a good way to challenge myself!  I think for the bottoms I would probably go with something gray or navy, and for the top I might actually try my hand at matching stripes!

I really love the idea of separates, because I think they make a lot more sense in my life style and I will get more wear out of them, however, I was also really drawn to this dress.  Maybe for another time 🙂

Image

 

Until next time,

Karin

 

9 thoughts on “Fall For Cotton Challenge: Inspiration

  1. Great ideas. I too have joined the challenge… Have picked my pattern but need to choose the fabric. Guess I better get on it! The wide leg trousers are very cute as are both tops. And the dress… it looks so springy/ summery- perfect for cotton. I will look forward to seeing what you decide! ~Laurie

  2. This sounds so fun! I might have to play copycat and join you; I’ve got a huge stack of vintage patterns and many, many yards of cotton. You have so many cool inspirations (SHOULDER BUTTONS!!!!!!) and I can’t wait to see what you make!

  3. Sounds like you’re as decided as I am! So many options!

    Like you, I don’t have a stash of vintage patterns available, so I’ll probably be relying on a retro pattern, and I’m in the process of deciding still. Though I think I’ll have settled on something in the next few days.

    I’m looking forward to seeing what you decide to make.

  4. I like all your options but I am really drawn to the prairie-esque top to go with the straight skirt with buttons! The styling for some patterns is really out there, I have seen the prairie/cowgirl look quite often in pattern books and it makes no sense as it doesn’t suit the garment at all!

  5. Pingback: Progress and A New Challenge | Life in A "Mads" House

Leave a Reply

