I’m Joining the Colette Hawthorn Sew Along!

Hi all!  So, of course lit-rally the day after I finished my shirt dress, Colette released this real beauty of a pattern, Hawthorn.  I knew immediately I wanted it, but it took a couple of days hours to convince myself it was different enough to buy it.  But who was I kidding.  I mean look at this thing.

Image

Jeepers, that’s pretty.

Image

So cute!

 

 

And, not only did I buy the pattern, but I decided I would participate in the sew along, mostly in hopes it will get me over my fear of sleeve insertion.  I bought this beautiful swiss dot chambray, which I think will give the dress a lot of flexibility re: fanciness, and the sleeves will help with the chilly nights here in L.A.

 

 

Image

50 pages! Oh boy!

I think this will be the most I’ve ever spent on a handmade garment, but all in all for a lovely dress it’s pretty reasonable.  The first step in the sew along was to pick fabric (check!) and make a muslin.  So tonight I will be assembling this beast of a pdf pattern, and tomorrow night I will be working on making a muslin (my first real one!) before heading out of town for the weekend.  I’ll probably be posting my progress on the dress along the way, so be sure to tune in!

 

Until next time,

Karin

3 thoughts on “I’m Joining the Colette Hawthorn Sew Along!

  1. I saw on Coletterie that you and I both have chosen the same fabric. After reading your blog I realized that I too have spent more than I would usually on fabric and a pattern but so loved the black swiss dotted fabric and the Hawthorne pattern is such a wonderful dress. Great minds think alike!

    • Haha, I had a feeling I wouldn’t be the only one picking that fabric! It is just too lovely! Looking forward to seeing how yours turns out!

  2. Pingback: Hawthorn Completed! | Dots, Stripes, and Florals

Leave a Reply

