Hello and Welcome!

Hello, and welcome to my sewing blog!  

Image

Hey, that’s me!

My name is Karin and I started to learn how to sew about a year ago.  It’s been going pretty slowly but I am really starting to learn a lot, and I thought this blog would be a fun way to keep track of what I am making and how I’m progressing in my sewing.

I’m particularly fond of prints and bright colors, and I’m excited to make myself a wardrobe that fits well and is my style.  It can be hard to find clothes that I love in my size, so I figure I might as well just make it!

Speaking of which, this skirt is the first garment I made with a zipper in it!

Image

Blue zipper!

 To make the skirt, I pretty much followed this tutorial, which I found very clear!  The only differences were the size (obviously) and the order of the steps.  I personally found it easier to attach the waistband first, then sew up the seam and attach the zipper, then hem the skirt.  I usually hem stuff as the last step because I like to see how it falls.  

I used a mustard linen-ish from Joann’s, and a 7″ poly zipper.  That is blue, because that is fun.  My waist where I wanted the skirt to sit is 42″ (oh boy, now the internet knows my waist size!), and I decided to add an inch of ease because I like a little room, so I cut a 43.5″ waistband with seam allowances.  Then for the main body I cut 70″ by 24″, but I think that was a little short for me.  70″ is not a ton of volume, but I find any more than that is too much for me.  And it happens to be almost exactly a yard of fabric!  Huzzah!  (Oh, and I’m wearing a J. Crew t-shirt that was on super sale, which I can’t find online, but this one is super cute, huh?).

I was originally going to add patch pockets to the skirt, but I decided it was a little too voluminous and that it would look weird.  Next time I might do a 60″ skirt, which should hang a little straighter and therefore would be a lovely patch-pocket-canvas.

So, that’s all for now!  Thanks for following along!  

Image

Sorry about the low quality pictures – from now on I promise to con one of my friends into taking them. 

Also I got new specs today that I am pretty thrilled with, so here is a close up of those in case you are curious.

Until next time,

Karin

6 thoughts on “Hello and Welcome!

  1. Love this skirt, the colour is bold and brilliant. Looking forward to seeing some patch pockets on your next one. I am just starting a miette wrap skirt at mo from ‘Tilly and the buttons’ but you have inspired my to try this one soon!

Leave a Reply

